Anti-Gay Senator Arrested After Leaving Gay Club

Another day, another Christian anti-gay bigot (a little redundant, I know) discovered to be a closet homo.

This time, the hypocrite-du-jour is GOP state senator Roy Ashburn (CA).  Ashburn, as many Californians know, was a staunch opponent of gay rights who fought fervently against same-sex marriage in California and even organized several anti-gay marriage rallies. You know the kind of guy I’m talking about… your typical “family values” Republican senator with a sour disposition and a hard-on (so to speak) for men only being allowed to marry women.

Anyway, Mr. No Homo was recently pulled over and arrested for DUI. Okay, so he pulled a Mel Gibson.  No big deal, right? He probably tossed a few anti-Semitic remarks at the cops while they threw him into the squad car. Certainly Republican a-holes have been able to maintain their Christian identity following much worse atrocities in the past, haven’t they? What else is new? How does that make him a hypocrite?

Wait for it…

He was leaving a popular gay club at the time.

Dramatic pause…

With an unidentified male.

Police reported that Ashburn, who reeked of booze and had watery red eyes, failed a sobriety test and was therefore under the influence of alcohol.  So there goes the “I was just in there trying to hand out gospel tracts” excuse.  The car, incidentally, was a state vehicle, which only made things worse.

The senator later issued an apology for the incident:

I am deeply sorry for my actions and offer no excuse for my poor judgment. I accept complete responsibility for my conduct and am prepared to accept the consequences for what I did. I am also truly sorry for the impact this incident will have on those who support and trust me – my family, my constituents, my friends, and my colleagues in the Senate.

You’ll notice that, in his apology, the senator makes no effort to clarify whether he’s talking about the DUI, or the gayness.  And oddly enough, the comments made by his family and colleagues didn’t address it either.  He seems to be trying to get the American public to completely ignore the fact that he was leaving a gay club, as evidenced by this recent photo of Ashburn showing the state of California that he’s totally not gay at all.

Let that be a lesson to all you conservative folk: if you’ve built your career on treating gays like diseased, third-class citizens, and one night you happen to find yourself leaving a gay club, drunk off of apple martinis and accompanied by a Hispanic man with a handlebar mustache (this is mere speculation, of course)… it might be a good idea to let the other guy take the wheel.

Literally, I mean.

(Video of the story via CBS is below)

Leave a Reply

