A Short Rant

“I’m guessing you feel that God has disappointed you, and so in your anger you’ve closed yourself off to him. So now you don’t believe in him.”

Yep. Someone actually said this to me today.

Makes sense, right? Because, incidentally, the reason I don’t believe in Santa Claus is because he didn’t bring me that ten-speed I asked for.

What is so difficult about accepting the fact that some of us, after earnestly believing in the Christian god, abandon this belief after careful, critical review? I honestly don’t see it. Why is it so hard to accept the fact that some people just don’t believe in any gods?

I’ve heard all kinds of presumptuous claims from religious people who try to speculate alternate explanations for my lack of belief, none of which make any sense, are supported by any evidence, or even sound the slightest bit reasonable.

I don’t go around presuming to know why Christians believe the nonsense that they do. So why are they so quick to make shit up when it comes to people who don’t believe as they do?

It’s crap like this that makes me doubt that religious people are truly interested in respectful, intellectually-honest dialog.

Leave a Reply

