Ask an Atheist: Pastor Jones and the Burning Book

What are your thoughts on Pastor Jones and his wanting to burn the Koran?

There are two sides to this, I guess.

I’d like to believe that this Pastor Jones would still be supporting freedom of speech if people were burning Bibles, but I don’t think that’s the case. I’m all for “desecrating” things that are “sacred,” for the simple reason that there is no such thing as “sanctity.”

We should not and must not hold things to be sacred. Once people start to hold a particular book as sacred, it usually follows that they’ll demand that others hold them sacred as well.

I’ve already explored this idea in a previous post, so I won’t go into that again. The main point is, burning a Quran is not a crime. Nor should it be.

Bottom line: I support free speech. Even the free speech of assholes. Even though I’m pretty positive that Pastor Jones isn’t burning Qurans for any noble or useful reasons, and that he merely sees his own book of fairy tales as much more worthy of reverence than theirs, I see no reason for the government to step in and stop them from exercising the same freedom of speech that everyone else enjoys.

The threats being made by those in Islamic countries over this event are the very definition of terrorism. They’re using the threat of violence to try to get us to abandon our most important principles. If you ask me, that’s much more deplorable than burning holy books.

Let’s not forget that the real problem here is the culture that is quick to make threats toward anyone that doesn’t adhere to their antiquated worldview; not the nonviolent protest of some insignificant Florida pastor.

To sum up: I DO agree with what Pastor Jones is doing; I DON’T agree with why he’s doing it; but I especially feel that the government has no business encouraging him to stop. Doing so would be nothing short of giving in to terrorism.

One thought on “Ask an Atheist: Pastor Jones and the Burning Book

  1. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues
    of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of exclusive
    content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it
    is popping it up all over the interrnet without myy agreement.
    Do you know any ways to hdlp prevent content from being stolen?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

